Sarah's Stars

Diana Wynne Jones.
The Chronicles of Chrestomanci. Volume 1:
Charmed Life / The Lives of Christopher Chant

Harper Trophy, ISBN 0-06-447268-X  $8.99  598 pg.

This book is amazing!  I was enthralled the first time I read one of Diana Wynne Jones' books, A Charmed Life.  That was in Grade two.  Even now I still admire Diana's writing style, enjoy the magic of the twelve worlds, and wonder at the power of the nine-lived Chrestomanci.

The Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol. I contains two novels.  The first story is A Charmed Life - the tale of  “Cat” (his proper name being Eric), his sister Gwendolen and their trials and triumphs in Chrestomanci Castle. They have to learn to live with the current Chrestomanci (Christopher) and his nasty children. The next story, The Lives of Christopher Chant goes 25 years back and tells of Christopher's carelessness with his lives.

I would say that readers twelve and up would thoroughly enjoy The Chronicles of Chrestomanci Volume 1.  I rate it 5 stars because I couldn't put it down and would read it again and again and again.


Home | Read | WriteCopyright | Privacy

This page was last updated on October 28, 2002 by the KIWW Webmaster.