Sarah's Stars

Eoin Colfer. Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception
Miramax Books  $23.95  ISBN 078685289-5  342 pg.
Reviewed by Emma, Age 13

Most humans aren't smart enough to find the leg holes in their trousers, but there are some who are smart enough to pass as fairies. One human in particular. I think we all know whom I'm talking about. Even as I wiped his mind of us, I wondered if the Fairy People were being fooled once again. Of course we were, as we were all to find out later.

Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception describes the return and revenge of Opal Koboi, a truly evil fairy genius. She is clever, beautiful, a compulsive liar, and just a tad psychotic. Opal plans to force together the human and fairy worlds and, you guessed it - take them over. Alone and outlawed, Captain Holly Short must stop her, but she can't do it without a little help from some old friends.

The Opal Deception is the fourth book in the Artemis Fowl Series by Irish author Eoin Colfer. Also the mind behind The Super Naturalist, The Wish List, and The Legend of Spud Murphy. He is a writer for tweens and teens. He lives with his wife and two children and will hopefully provide us with a fifth Artemis Fowl book to finish off the series. The Opal Deception is a 342-page hardcover adventure-fantasy novel that takes place in the present day.

The Artemis Fowl books are full of new ideas and complex characters, Artemis being top of the list. Though he's the "good guy" he steals, kidnaps, breaks and enters. Master Fowl will stop at nothing to succeed. But this goes unnoticed by the reader as they are hypnotized by his easy spunk and dangerous attitude. Praise for Arty's third book stated that "Harry had better watch his back", and I agree! Three cheers and five stars for Artemis Fowl!


Home | Read | WriteCopyright | Privacy

This page was last updated on November 01, 2005 by the KIWW Webmaster.