Sarah's Stars

Lemony Snicket. The End
HarperCollins  $16.99  ISBN 978-0-06-441016-8  336 pg.
Reviewed by Emma, Age 14

… it might be best for you to stop looking at The End before the end of The End arrives, and to stop reading The End before you read the end, as the stories that end in The End that begun in The Bad Beginning are beginning to end now.

The End is the final chapter of the Baudelaire story. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, orphans, constantly pursued by the evil and ridiculous Count Olaf, who wants to steal their fortune. As their story progresses, the Baudelaires discover many secrets about themselves, their parents, and a secret organization called VFD. When The End begins, the Baudelaires are floating out to sea on a rickety wooden boat. With them, a jar of beans, a commonplace book, and a sinister character with a harpoon gun…

Lemony Snicket is the author of The End, the final segment of A Series of Unfortunate Events. The only pieces of information he willingly reveals to his readers are his name, and the name of his deceased lover, Beatrice. The first book in the series is The Bad Beginning, with The End fittingly finishing off the set of not-so-coincidentally thirteen books. Brett Helquist illustrates the series, doing not only the cover art, but also numerous sketches within the pages of each volume.

The Baudelaire books are always rich in description, and full of the cruelest, quick-witted, badly disguised, secretive, kind, and pregnant characters you may ever encounter. Colourful, original, and utterly stunning, the villains and volunteers of the Baudelaire world will continue to amaze, worry, and confuse you as the final secrets of VFD are revealed- or not.

Feet of clay, bitter apples, and a sleigh pulled by sheep are all part of this four-star End.


Home | Read | WriteCopyright | Privacy

This page was last updated on January 29, 2007 by the KIWW Webmaster.