Sarah's Stars

Julia Golding. Den of Thieves
Egmont $16.95  ISBN 978-1-4052-2818-3  412 pg.
Reviewed by Meghan, Age 15

In the theatre, there comes a moment when we bid goodbye to a play. The scripts are put back on the shelf, the scenery dismantled, the actors move on to new roles. Yesterday, my life at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane, came to the end of its run. What can I say to you, Reader? For me, everything is over. I admit that I’m scared. I don’t know what I shall do. I wasn’t prepared for such a sudden termination to the life I thought I was going to lead. And so strange to think that the curtain was brought down with such a simple question.

The third novel featuring Cat Royal sees her back in action. Despite the fact that she’s now homeless due to the pending destruction and rebuilding of the Theatre Royal, Cat has managed to never the less land on her feet. On behalf of Mr. Sheridan, she undertakes a voyage to France poses as a ballet dancer, and lands smack dab in the middle of the French Revolution. From the prisons of Paris, to the court of a French King (of Thieves) Cat’s foreign adventure is sure to delight her readers. Featuring a visit from Johnny and the continued antagonisms of Billy Shepherd Den of Thieves is sure to delight!

Julia Golding’s third novel featuring Cat Royal only proves further what her first two books told the world, Golding is a superb author. A doctor of the English Romantic Period from Oxford, Julia Golding now lives in Oxford with her husband and three children, where she pens the fascinating life story of Catherine Royal. For readers who are knowledgeable about the French Revolution (anyone who’s passed Grade Nine Socials) there are glimpses of famous people on the streets of Paris. *Look out for Marie Antoinette and the big cheese of the revolution himself Maxmillien Robespierre. In my opinion, this is the best Cat Royal novel yet!

I would recommend Den of Thieves mainly for girls twelve and up (although I’m sure some boys would enjoy it, too). For fans of Cat Royal, I would also recommend the Bloody Jack Adventures by L.A. Meyer; tales of the curious, nautical misadventures of Mary ‘Jacky’ Faber, ships boy.

This reviewer gladly gives Den of Thieves five stars.

RATING:

Home | Read | WriteCopyright | Privacy

This page was last updated on October 31, 2007 by the KIWW Webmaster.