Sarah's Stars

Lucy Maud Montgomery. The Green Gables Collection
Random House $19.95 ISBN 978-0-553-75166-6
Reviewed by Mena, Age 14

The 100th year edition of Montgomery’s classic Anne of Green Gables includes the first three books of eight in the series; Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea and Anne of the Island. Anne Shirley, the novel’s main character, has a talent for accidentally getting herself, and her friends, into trouble. Orphaned at an early age, Anne at age eleven is adopted by the Cuthberts, Matthew and Marilla. There was, however, a mistake.  The Cuthberts wanted a boy to help on the farm, not the strange redhead who had been left for them at the train station. Anne however, wins Marilla over and her eventful upbringing is begun. 

Lucy Maud Montgomery was native to the red roads of P.E.I, although she later lived in Ontario with her husband. Montgomery was ignored by reviewers and critics until the 1970s.  Her ambition was to “Write a book that would live.” At this she most certainly succeeded as her works were published and republished and turned into plays and films. During her lifetime, Montgomery wrote over two dozen novels, including her popular ‘Emily’ series. She died in Toronto in 1942.

Personally, I have loved the series since I first received a copy for Christmas when I was eight. I often return to reading the series because they seem to be real, and it’s a great source of amusement. I have been found sitting on the couch reading these books and laughing and people look at me like I’m crazy. This book would be enjoyed by people age eight and up. This is a true five star book.


Home | Read | WriteCopyright | Privacy

This page was last updated on September 04, 2008 by the KIWW Webmaster.